Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey (Youtube).  Here is a link to the Goodreads group, and here is a link to its new host Sam on her Youtube channel and the Goodreads profile. Check them out, say hi, join up, and talk about all the books.

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic is Books I Want to Re-Read. I’m not overly on board the whole ‘read all the new books’ wagon, mostly because I’m just now getting back into reading regularly and I have a lot to catch up on. So very a lot. All of these are going to be kind of old, and they aren’t ranked in any particular order.

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll. What else is there to say, I mean…Alice in Wonderland. It’s a classic, and it’s nonsense and it’s perfect. I read this when I was old enough to appreciate all the literary brilliance of it. Some things were really cool, and some things were extremely trippy. Lewis Caroll had an interesting mind.

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. I read everything after the fact, after the hype, way after the movie. And I loved the moview.  That series is one everyone should read regardless of age. The turn of phrase, the concepts, the story, the characters–freaking Olaf. Why was I feeling bad for that human toilet tissue at the end? I don’t know. I obviously need to re-read them.

It’s been too long since I’ve read them, and I can’t pick one book, so I’m just going to treat the series like one long, sad book.

I think that was my first book hangover. I really wanted those kids to be okay. I wish I could pretend that they are okay, but I know they aren’t, but at least they are together. To me, they will always be together.

The Thief is one of the main reasons I’m reading and writing again, why I’m making it a priority. Gen is the self-proclaimed greatest thief ever, and he is in prison. He is taken out by the king and his advisor to steal this mysterious item, and he will be freed. It all seems straightforward, but this boy is devious, and he is king of the long con. It’s a fantasy heist story, but he plays all the parts.

I can re-read this one at anytime. It’s on my Amazon Kindle Samsung App, so it’s right there. But I wish I could read it like it was the first time because it was perfect. The entire Queen’s Thief series is perfect, and Megan Whalen Turner is finally releasing the new book in the series.

Excuse me, I need a moment to flail…

Everyone should read the Queen’s Thief series, and if you end up not liking The Thief, just read the second one right after called Queen of Attolia. They’re not that long. Just try it.

I wish I could re-read Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. While Richard is great, the Marquis is my favorite person. I like Richard, and he grows up a lot in this story. He’s the hero. I love the Marquis de Carrabas. Morally gray characters who are just suspect the entire time, but saving everyone and no one appreciates them–I’m looking at you, Richard–are my favorite.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynn Jones is everything I love. Couples who play-fight and start off hating each other. Calcifer is my sass-mouth darling child, and her sisters were fun. I wish I’d read it before I saw the movie–like ninety-eleven times because I loved that movie, and Miyazaki is bae– because I kept picturing the cartoon versions. I loved that his family and where he came from was featured in the book. Even though I knew what was going to happen, I still loved every bit of it.

I actually own these last three books so theoretically I could re-read them at any time, but I have other things I need to do, and when I sit down to read, that is exactly what I do. Sit down four to six hours and read–which is bad for my writing, school, and sleeping schedule. I need clones or time-stopping powers. Or the ability to prioritize the time I have and not be a bum.

What are some Top 5 Books that you want to re-read? Leave a comment below or post a response on your own blog, Instagram, vlog or whatever and let me know.

 

